During the 2013 elections, the League drafted a Performing Arts Platform, held two Meet the Candidates events for our membership, endorsed 19 candidates, and actively campaigned on behalf of those endorsed candidates. 52% of League endorsed candidates won their elections and took or resumed office in 2014.

November 5th, 2013

In the general election, the following LITNY Endorsed candidates will be running against opponents from other parties:

Jack Hidary (Mayor).

Read LIT’s letter of endorsement for Jack Hidary here.

Click here to find your district!

NYC General City-Wide Primary, 2013

September 10th, 2013

Congratulations to the following LITNY endorsed candidates who won in their primaries on September 10th, 2013:

Scott Stringer (Comptroller)
Eric Adams (Brooklyn Borough President)
Ben Kallos (District 5)
Mark Levine (District 7)
Melissa Mark-Viverito (District 8)
Costa Constantinides (District 22)
Rory Lancman (District 24)
Laurie Cumbo (District 35)
Carlos Menchaca (District 38)

The voter guide for the September 10th Primary (which passed) is here

The following candidates who were endorsed in the primary race which ended on September 10th, 2013 are below:

Comptroller Scott M. Stringer - Endorsement Video

Public advocate Cathy Guerriero - Endorsement Video

Manhattan Borough President Julie Menin - Endorsement Video

Brooklyn Borough President Eric Adams

Queens Borough President Peter Vallone Jr.

Manhattan 1 Jenifer Rajkumar

Manhattan 3 Yetta Kurland - Endorsement Video

Manhattan 5 Ben Kallos

Manhattan 6 Ken Biberaj

Manhattan 7 Mark Levine - Endorsement Video

Manhattan 8 Melissa Mark-Viverito

Bronx 11 Cliff Stanton

Queens 22 Costa Constantinides

Queens 24 Rory Lancman

Queens 26 Jimmy Van Bramer

Brooklyn 35 Laurie Cumbo - Endorsement Video

Brooklyn 37 Kimberly Council

Brooklyn 38 Carlos Menchaca

Brooklyn 40 Saundra Thomas

The League of Independent Theater’s Meet the Candidate Forum

On March 12, 2013 LIT held at Meet the Candidates Forum at the Players, 16 Gramercy Park South.

Our Political Research and Outreach Committee created a great event with 20 candidates in races across the city. Questions were put to the panels based on LIT’s Performing Arts Platform. You can see a chart with the attendees and their districts HERE.

Here are videos from the event:

Introduction by David Pincus, Robin Rothstein, Chris Harcum, John Clancy, Council Member Jimmy Van Bramer, and current Manhattan Borough President, Scott Stringer.

Panel One:

Kevin Coenen Jr. (Mayoral)
Robert Jackson (Manhattan Borough President)
Julie Menin (Manhattan Borough President)
Peter Vallone Jr. (Queens Borough President)

Panel Two.
Corey Johnson (CC Manhattan 3)
Yetta Kurland (CC Manhattan 3)
Ben Kallos (CC Manhattan 5)
Jenifer Rajkumar (CC Manhattan 1)

Panel Three.
Marc Landis (CC Manhattan 6)
Mel Wymore (CC Manhattan 6)
Mark Levine (CC Manhattan 7)
Cheryl Pahaham (CC Manhattan 7)
Angel Molina (CC Bronx 8)

Panel Four.
Laurie Cumbo (CC Brooklyn 35)
Kimberly Council (CC Brooklyn 37)
William Russell Moore (CC Bronx 18)
Matthew Silverstein (CC Queens 19)
Cathy Guerriero (Public Advocate)
Letitia James (Public Advocate)